Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The ticket number is located on the front of the citation and is printed along the right hand side. Please refer to the first number listed when calling with questions about your ticket. There are two numbers listed to allow officer's to write up to two violations on one citation.
Show All Answers
If a fine amount is listed on the back of your ticket and you wish to plead guilty or no contest to the charge, you can pay it prior to your court date without attending court. If it says COURT on the back of your ticket, you must appear in court on the date and time listed on the front of your ticket. Court costs are assessed even if you do not attend court and you must pay the total amount due.
Forms of payments accepted: Cash, Check, Money Order, Debit/Credit Card, Online Payments
Please make check or money order payable to: De Soto Municipal Court
Mail in payments
De Soto Municipal Court
32905 W. 84th Street / PO Box C, De Soto, Kansas 66018
*Please include your citation when mailing in your payment. You will need to sign it and select whether you are pleading guilty or no contest.
Walk in payments
32905 W. 84th Street, De Soto, Kansas 66018
Regular business hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
When paying in person, if you are using a debit or credit card for payment, the person whose name appears on the card must be present and provide photo ID.
Online Payments using a debit or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover).
Certain violations can be paid online. There is a $2.50 transaction fee charged for online payments.
Click here for De Soto Municipal Court Payments
Unless your ticket is dismissed and the court costs are waived as part of the dismissal order, court costs are assessed on all citations (excluding seat belt) and must be paid regardless of court attendance. Court costs cover administrative and state mandated fees. Court costs are $60.
The Court Clerk is authorized to amend speeding tickets up to 19 mph over the posted speed limit for 2x the listed fine amount plus court costs. Amendments for speeding tickets 20 mph and over are handled on a case by case basis and must be approved by the Prosecutor.
An amendment will not be offered if the violation occurred in a school or construction zone, or was the result of an accident. It will be at the Prosecutor's discretion to offer an amendment if you have had a ticket amended in the past 12 months. Please refer to your ticket for your court date and time if you would like to speak to the Prosecutor regarding an amendment.
If the registration has not been expired longer than one year, and proof of current registration is provided on or before the court date listed on the ticket, the charge will be dismissed and fees waived.
If the registration is not renewed by the court date listed on the ticket, or if the registration has been expired longer than one year, a fine and court costs will be imposed (refer to fine schedule), or you can appear in court on your court date to speak to the Prosecutor regarding amendment or diversion options.
If you were cited for no proof of insurance and you can provide valid insurance on the vehicle you were driving at the time of the stop, and you did not receive the violation as the result of an accident, the charge will be dismissed and fees will be waived. Proof of valid insurance must be provided to the Court Clerk within ten days of receiving your ticket for dismissal. Insurance will be verified.
If your insurance has lapsed, expired, or was cancelled, you must appear in court on the date and time listed on your ticket.
You may provide proof of registration or insurance by faxing or emailing it to the Court. It is your responsibility to verify it was received.
Fax: 913-583-3123 / Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
If it is your first request on a first appearance court date, you can call the Court Clerk at 913-586-5290 and a continuance will be granted. If you have already had a continuance and need another one, you must appear in court to request additional time.
You have the right to be represented by an attorney in all cases in De Soto Municipal Court. If you are charged with an offense that could result in jail time and you cannot afford to hire an attorney, you can apply for the Public Defender. You will need to complete a financial affidavit form for the Judge to review to determine if you qualify.
The City of De Soto contracts with the Johnson County Sheriff's Office for policing services. www.jocosheriff.org
For ticket or court related questions, please contact the De Soto Court Clerk at 913-586-5290.
For emergencies, please call 911.
Unless you have been instructed by the court, your attorney, or the public defender to appear at a different time, court is at 6:00 p.m.
The front doors to City Hall will remain unlocked after 4:30 p.m. If you arrive early, please check in with the Court Clerk. The Court Clerk's office is right next to the courtroom at the end of the hall.
If you believe you are not guilty of the offense in which you were charged, you may enter a plea of not guilty and have the matter set over for trial.
Attorney's may file their Entry of Appearance by:
Fax: 913-583-3123 or email: email@example.com
Please include your bar number on the EOA.
Attorney's we respectfully ask that you do not call on the day of the court appearance to request a continuance, or file a Motion to Continue on the day of the court appearance. Please send someone in your place to request the continuance from the judge if you are unable to attend court. Thank you for your cooperation.
Yes! Certain violations can be paid online.
Please refer to "How can I pay my ticket?" for payment options.
If your license was suspended by the De Soto Municipal Court for failing to pay a fine, please contact the Court Clerk at 913-586-5290 to find out how much you owe. For Kansas driver's license holders, this amount will include a $122 reinstatement fee. Once you pay in full, the court will notify Driver Solutions to withdraw the suspension hold; however, the reinstatement processes can take up to 7-10 business days. Once you are fully reinstated, you will receive a letter of reinstatement in the mail from your local licensing authority, so it is important to keep your mailing address updated with them. If you drive before you are officially reinstated, and you get pulled over, this could result in a more serious charge of Driving While Suspended.
To check on the status of your (Kansas) driver's license and/or update your mailing address, please visit: www.ksrevenue.org
or call the Kansas Department of Revenue - Driver Solutions at 785-296-3671.